The Weekly Newsletter of MIT Linguistics

DeGraff elected LSA Fellow!

Congratulations to our colleague Michel DeGraff, who has been elected a 2023 Fellow of the Linguistic Society of America! This is our field’s highest honor, awarded each year to a small number of linguists for “distinguished contributions to the discipline”. This is truly fantastic news.

Michel joins current and former faculty colleagues Noam Chomsky, Kai von Fintel, Morris Halle, Irene Heim, Sabine Iatridou, David Pesetsky, and Donca Steriade, who have been honored as Fellows in previous
years, as well as more than thirty alumni of the department. Approximately a quarter of all LSA Fellows are MIT alumni or faculty. The full list of LSA Fellows can be found at